top of page

The 2006 Willis E. Lamb Award for Laser Science and Quantum Optics

Announced September 21, 2005. Awarded January 5, 2006, at the 36th Winter Colloquium on the Physics of Quantum Electronics.

Roy J. Glauber, Harvard University

For contributions to our understanding of the foundations of quantum coherence theory.


Roy Glauber has been the Mallinckrodt Professor of Physics at Harvard University since 1976. He received his BS in 1946 and his Ph.D. in 1949 from Harvard University. He worked as a staff member on the Manhattan Project and did postdoctoral work for the Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton and at the Swiss Federal Polytechnic Institute in Zurich.

He has served as a member of the editorial Board of several technical journals including Nuclear Physics B and the Journal of Mathematical Physics. He has been a visiting scientist and professor at CERN, the University of Leiden, NORDITA in Copenhagen and the College de France in Paris. Glauber has been a member of the Advisory Board for the Program for Science and Technology for International Security at M.I.T. since 1983.

He has received numerous honors and prizes including the A. A. Michelson Medal from the Franklin Institute in Philadelphia (1985), the Max Born Award from the American Optical Society (1985) and the A. von Humboldt Research Award (1989), the Willis E. Lamb Award for Laser Science and Quantum Optics (announced in 2005) and the Nobel Prize in Physics (2005).

Bio provided by Prof. Glauber, 2006. Updated by Lamb Award committee 2006.

Back to Lamb Award front page

bottom of page