top of page

The 2013 Willis E. Lamb Award for Laser Science and Quantum Optics

Awarded January 9, 2013, at the 43rd Winter Colloquium on the Physics of Quantum Electronics.

Shaul Mukamel, University of California, Irvine

For pioneering the development of novel and multidimensional molecular spectroscopies.


Shaul Mukamel received his B.Sc. degree in Chemical Physics in 1969 and his Ph.D. in 1976, both from Tel Aviv University. Following postdoctoral appointments at MIT and The University of California, Berkeley, he has held faculty positions at Rice University, and The Weizmann Institute, and in 1982 he joined the chemistry department of the University of Rochester. In 2000 he became the Kenneth Mees Professor and in 2003 was appointed joint Professor of Physics. Since 2003 he serves on the faculty of UC Irvine as a Chancellor Professor of Chemistry.

His research interests focus on the design of novel ultrafast multidimensional coherent optical spectroscopies for probing and controlling electronic and vibrational molecular dynamics in the condensed phase; theoretical and computational studies and applications including attosecond nonlinear x-ray spectroscopy of molecules; many-body effects in quantum optics; nonlinear optical spectroscopy of molecular nanostructures, chromophore aggregates, light harvesting complexes, proteins and semiconductor nanoparticles; nonlinear dynamics and fluctuations in quantum and classical systems.

He is the author of over 700 publications in scientific journals and the textbook, Principles of Nonlinear Optical Spectroscopy (Oxford University Press, 1995).

Mukamel is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and the Optical Society of America. He is the recipient of the Alfred P. Sloan, the Guggenheim, the Alexander von Humboldt Senior Scientist Award, the 2003 Lippincott award of the OSA, a 2011 Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies (FRIAS) Senior Fellowship, the 2011 Earle K. Plyler Prize for Molecular Spectroscopy of the American Physical Society, and the 2012 Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics.

Bio provided by Prof. Mukamel, 2012.

Back to Lamb Award front page

bottom of page