top of page

The 1998 Willis E. Lamb Award for Laser Science and Quantum Optics

Awarded May, 1998, at Texas A&M University. This was the inaugural year for the Lamb Award. Subsequent awards were made at the annual Winter Colloquium on the Physics of Quantum Electronics.

Ali Javan, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

For the invention of the helium-neon laser.

Olga Kocharovskaya, Texas A&M University

Paul Mandel, Université Libre de Bruxelles

For contributions to the study of atomic coherence effects in masers and lasers.

Ali Javan
Olga Kocharovskaya
Paul Mandel

Javan photo copyright © 1996 Betty Blair, Azerbaijan International Magazine, All rights reserved. Used with permission. (Original context).

Other Information:

  • Photo of the inaugural presentation of the award.

bottom of page