top of page

The 2003 Willis E. Lamb Award for Laser Science and Quantum Optics

Awarded January 8, 2003, at the 33rd Winter Colloquium on the Physics of Quantum Electronics.

Leon Cohen, City University of New York (bio)

For pioneering work on quantum quasi-probability distributions and the closely related applied field of time-frequency analysis.

Michael Feld, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (bio)

For the first experimental demonstrations of superradiance and the microlaser and for pioneering applications of optics to biological physics.

Herschel A. Rabitz, Princeton University (bio)

For inventing the learning algorithm approach to the coherent control of quantum

phenomena with important and wide-ranging applications.

Leon Cohen
Michael Feld
Herschel A. Rabitz
bottom of page