top of page

The 2005 Willis E. Lamb Award for Laser Science and Quantum Optics

Awarded January 5, 2005, at the 35th Winter Colloquium on the Physics of Quantum Electronics.

Gérard Mourou, University of Michigan and LOA ENSTA/ Ecole Polytechnique France (bio)

For outstanding contributions to laser science, especially the development of short-pulse high-power lasers.

Szymon Suckewer, Princeton University (bio)

For outstanding contributions to laser science especially the development of the X-ray laser.

Sune Svanberg, University of Lund, Sweden (bio)

For outstanding contributions to medical physics, especially laser medical diagnostics and treatment.

Gérard Mourou
Szymon Suckewer
Sune Svanberg

Other Information:

  • Photos from the presentation of the award.

bottom of page