top of page

The 2014 Willis E. Lamb Award for Laser Science and Quantum Optics

Awarded January 8, 2014, at the 44th Winter Colloquium on the Physics of Quantum Electronics.

Pierre Meystre, University of Arizona (bio)

For pioneering work on many-body quantum optics from the free-electron laser to quantum gases.

Shi-Yao Zhu, Beijing Computational Science Research Center (bio)

For pioneering work ranging from lasing without inversion to quenched spontaneous emission.

M. Suhail Zubairy, Texas A&M University (bio)

For pioneering work ranging from noise-free amplification to super Rayleigh resolution.

Pierre Meystre
Shi-Yao Zhu
M. Suhail Zubairy

Zubairy photo by Timothy St. Martin, Texas A&M University, 2013. All rights reserved.

Zhu photo provided by Prof. Zhu, 2013. Used with permission.

Meystre photo by Jeff Smith, 2013, All rights reserved.

Other Information:

  • Photos from the presentation of the award.

bottom of page